All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Strut-Top Adjustable Camber plate for RX3 - Options??
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 10:54 am 
Offline
Rotary?... What The?

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:04 am
Posts: 28
Location: Christchurch, NZ.
Does anyone know of a Strut-Top Adjustable Camber plate for RX3's commercially available or otherwise? I don't want to adj from the lower arms end as I'm trying to also bring in the top of the wheel.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 11:41 am 
Offline
Get a Life
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 1:01 pm
Posts: 3656
Location: Albury
Hey Champ, Noltec Make adjustable strut tops, you can also get camber bolts if you are strapped for cash.

google the noltec website, or try xtreem rotarys i think they also sell this product. you will be looking around $400 up for some strut top adjusters and around $150 for some camber bolts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 11:52 am 
Offline
Rotary?... What The?

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:04 am
Posts: 28
Location: Christchurch, NZ.
Ok sounds good, what are camber bolts? Are they eccentric bolts that you put in your lower arm mounting points?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 11:57 am 
Offline
Rotary?... What The?

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 1:51 pm
Posts: 36
I have set of the Noltec adjustable tops.

I was not impressed by these. Very little adjustment. Got 2 degrees of camber and 2.6 degrees of caster.

They are very similar to make yourself.

If you need pic I will take some tonight


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:01 pm 
Offline
Rotary?... What The?

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:04 am
Posts: 28
Location: Christchurch, NZ.
Interesting. I just looked on Noltec website, and I see list price is USD$488. Got me thinking of K-Mac, and they sell a similiar item, USD$370 so quite a bit cheaper. Sounds like they'd be preferable to Noltec from what you say.

Anyone used the K-macs? And what are camber bolts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 12:40 pm 
Offline
The Bug Has Bitten

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 5:58 pm
Posts: 323
Location: Brisbane, Qld
The Noltec's certainly dont look like they offer much room for adjustment. Dad's rally car is running K-Mac's and he's quite happy with them, so I'm prolly gonna buy the same for my S2.

_________________
S1 RX-7 dirt/street sprint car build
Trader Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 1:04 pm 
Offline
Rotary?... What The?

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 1:51 pm
Posts: 36
The topic is for rx3.

I have seen them used in other cars i.e. rx4 and rx7. much better adjustment. I would say up to 5 degrees of camber.

The problem is not the spring but the bush housing in the tops hitting the outer rings.

I thought the problem would be the spring at first but there is at least 15mm clearance to the strut tower.

For further adjustment you would need to cut the outer ring to give a little more adjustment and then the tower itself :x :x :x . after this the spring would be the problem. Coil over will fix that :D :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 1:16 pm 
Offline
Rotary?... What The?

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:04 am
Posts: 28
Location: Christchurch, NZ.
Yeah looking at pics of K-macs I couldn't be sure they wouldn't have same prob as Noltec, but sounds like the range of adj. is better.

I've put adj. platforms on my struts, but still using rx7 spring just cut at bottom to fit 60mm ID lower platform. Have about as much room as you described at the top. If I bought 60mm ID springs and used their top hat then yes, more room for more negative camber.

Nice to think the extra money I prob have to spend will also chew out my tyres and cost more. Can't really go freddy krueger on my fibreglass guards tho so gotta do something.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 2:22 pm 
Offline
Rotor Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 6:12 am
Posts: 5990
Location: Canberra.
S
E
A
R
C
H

Try "k-mac AND shit" as a search term... ;)

_________________
Ebay stuff: http://shop.ebay.com.au/merchant/yz125nut


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 2:48 pm 
Offline
Uber Post Whore

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 10:40 am
Posts: 10000
Location: :noitacaL
go to toymods and look up "K Mac" and "bent"

not so pleasant photos...

_________________
Goodbye, good luck and thanks for all the fish.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:35 pm 
Offline
Get a Life
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 1:01 pm
Posts: 3656
Location: Albury
Spac wrote:
S
E
A
R
C
H

Try "k-mac AND shit" as a search term... ;)


Yeah, like spacs ideas i have also heard Kmac tops ARNT to good i have never used them myself though, noltec are the superior tops.

GOTO there webpage, you will see the CAMBER BOLTS, from what i remember you CAN get some good camber/caster from them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:06 pm 
Offline
The Bug Has Bitten

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 5:58 pm
Posts: 323
Location: Brisbane, Qld
At the end of the day, I think it comes to how much youre willing to spend vs what you want to use it for.

I ran that search and it seems like the few people who had a problem with them were using them in basically a race application, which for ~$600 for K-Mac vs ~$900 for Noltec's, I dont think you can expect to have comparable quality.

That $300 can make a LOT of difference.

_________________
S1 RX-7 dirt/street sprint car build
Trader Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:46 am 
Offline
Epitrochoid Shaped Head
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 11:17 pm
Posts: 1529
Location: Adelaide
having the caster tops does it actually aid caster
as its not actually moving the hub forward
it would just be static? im confused


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 11:26 pm
Posts: 5746
Location: Canberra
ICQ 4 IT wrote:
I have set of the Noltec adjustable tops.

I was not impressed by these. Very little adjustment. Got 2 degrees of camber and 2.6 degrees of caster.

They are very similar to make yourself.

If you need pic I will take some tonight


Is the lack of adjustment because of the strut top not using the space in the strut opening efficiently or because the hole isn't very big to begin with?

I mean it's obviously down to how much room is available to move the top shock mount as to how much neg camber and castor you can get. I suspect it's probably not the Noltecs fault, which you imply here.

I'm just asking the question, not having a dig or anything in case there's any confusion! :wink:

_________________
FC track car in the build.
@ Wakefield Park, Winter '08... Umm, make that Winter '09!! :( Maybe, Winter '11!!! Seriously now... Winter 2015!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 11:26 pm
Posts: 5746
Location: Canberra
dori fc wrote:
having the caster tops does it actually aid caster
as its not actually moving the hub forward
it would just be static? im confused


It's still changing the castor angle because the top of the shock tube is being moved toward the back of the car. Instead of this l it's like this \, even though the hub hasn't changed position, there's still castor angle there.

_________________
FC track car in the build.
@ Wakefield Park, Winter '08... Umm, make that Winter '09!! :( Maybe, Winter '11!!! Seriously now... Winter 2015!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:24 am 
Offline
Rotary?... What The?

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:04 am
Posts: 28
Location: Christchurch, NZ.
I hear what your saying about the range of adjustment being limited by the size of the hole.

Here's a pic of Noltec installed in rx3.
Image

And a G-force from the UK(323 so same as rx3), this looks nice, and prob wouldn't limit range as much as Noltec
Image

Does anyone have a pic of the K-mac installed for comparison?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group