All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 2:19 pm 
Offline
Get a Girlfriend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:19 pm
Posts: 2607
Location: Sydney Inner West
OK, I spent over an hour this morning searching AR and Google for this info as well as emailing Autotecnica here in Sydney.

I recently purchased the MSPEC tacho and installed it in my race car... That's where the problems started. I'll copy and paste part of my email to save me retyping:

"It has the usual wires, Red(Ignition Switch), Black (Earth) and Green (Signal)

The wiring diagram suggests there is a yellow wire for permanent 12 volt +... It doesn't
have a yellow wire. What it does have is what appears to be an inline fuse holder full of
small round batteries. This same battery pod swaps the colours of the red/black wires and
exits to a small two pronged plug. Your wiring diagram makes no mention of this assembly.

Luckily I rewired the factory tacho and managed to compete with that. Using your tacho,
on 4 cyl setting showed the motor idles 500rpm lower than it actually does and the low
reading seemed to get worse as the revs increased right up to 7,000 rpm.

The car in question is a RX7 rotary and it's accepted practice to use the 4 cylinder
setting on after market tachometers to obtain an accurate reading."


Attachment:
Iphone pics 170509 019a.jpg
Iphone pics 170509 019a.jpg [ 189.84 KiB | Viewed 2134 times ]


Has anyone had any success/experience with this particular tacho/wiring?

_________________
Going racing on a tight budget
Trader Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 10:02 pm 
Offline
Get a Girlfriend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:19 pm
Posts: 2607
Location: Sydney Inner West
:-k

_________________
Going racing on a tight budget
Trader Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 12:38 am 
Offline
Rotor Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2002 5:43 am
Posts: 5562
Location: REACT, Canberra
Is your tacho an external shiftlight version? And the instructions cover both non-shift light and shift light versions? So perhaps could the yellow be the shiftlight bulb power source? Or possibly is there a push-button replay model in the range?
The red/black/green all seems in order - I don't see why you'd need a permanent hot wire, except maybe for a internal replay memory.

Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 2:10 am 
Offline
Rebuild Time
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:43 am
Posts: 1173
Location: st marys sydney
mate u will have dramas with spiking with that tacho, not worth the box it came in.....

sorry

_________________
Maztrix wrote:
Then before you know it you are balls deep on her while she is growling out your missus like a dog in a puddle of water on a hot day.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 11:43 am 
Offline
Get a Girlfriend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:19 pm
Posts: 2607
Location: Sydney Inner West
buzz wrote:
Is your tacho an external shiftlight version? And the instructions cover both non-shift light and shift light versions? So perhaps could the yellow be the shiftlight bulb power source? Or possibly is there a push-button replay model in the range?
The red/black/green all seems in order - I don't see why you'd need a permanent hot wire, except maybe for a internal replay memory.

Mark


Hi Mark, yes External Shift Light, but that has it's own red/black twin flex with unique plugs. I think the little battery pod is to hold the tell tale maximum revs Recall and to hold the shift light memory? It also has the 7 light colours wank factor :roll:

Both pages refer to the shift light, but only one page refers to the non existent yellow wire :lol: Thanks :)

cheder wrote:
mate u will have dramas with spiking with that tacho, not worth the box it came in.....

sorry

Hey Cheder, maybe that's why Autotecnica haven't responded and why I got it so cheap #-o
Attachment:
Iphone pics 170509 020.jpg
Iphone pics 170509 020.jpg [ 62.47 KiB | Viewed 2039 times ]


I'll have another play with it today and will call Autotechnica tomorrow... Otherwise they can swap the tacho for a passenger race seat 8)

_________________
Going racing on a tight budget
Trader Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:26 pm 
Offline
Get a Girlfriend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:19 pm
Posts: 2607
Location: Sydney Inner West
Well after a few weeks without a reply (got a read receipt) I rang to ask for an update. The guy told me he had no knowledge of my inquiry, so I resent the email to him and then received the usual "we've never had this problem before"

I also advised him my Autotecnica/monza 2 litre oil catch can was now leaking too, so they're going to send me a new tank and one of their new multiple task digital tachometer with oil temp, pressure and water temp built in.

Watch this space...

_________________
Going racing on a tight budget
Trader Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 9:52 pm 
Offline
Boost Me Up
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 600
Location: melbourne
damn i just bought a tacho very similar as i was cheap for the race car... shiiiiit

_________________
My trader feedback... viewtopic.php?f=14&t=174304&hilit=Joefd3s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:21 am 
Offline
Get a Girlfriend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:19 pm
Posts: 2607
Location: Sydney Inner West
joefd3s wrote:
damn i just bought a tacho very similar as i was cheap for the race car... shiiiiit


The manager rang me back soon after and sent out replacements :)

I'm probably going to sell the tacho though

_________________
Going racing on a tight budget
Trader Feedback


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 11:34 pm 
Offline
Boost Me Up
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 600
Location: melbourne
with the tach signal what did you wire that into?

_________________
My trader feedback... viewtopic.php?f=14&t=174304&hilit=Joefd3s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:40 pm 
Offline
The Bug Has Bitten
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:02 am
Posts: 435
Roland, any updates? :)

_________________
RX7 Series 1 - Track Attack Build - New engine build.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:50 pm 
Offline
Boost Me Up
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 600
Location: melbourne
worked it out, needs to go on the negative trailing coil.. autotechnica, what a peice of shit..

_________________
My trader feedback... viewtopic.php?f=14&t=174304&hilit=Joefd3s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:14 pm 
Offline
Epitrochoid Shaped Head

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:39 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: west sydney
these are the biggest pieces of shit tachos you can buy. i had 2 of them got them cheap and they both shit them selves within about a week of being in the car.

_________________
YMCMB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autotecnica Monster Tach Wiring... Yes I have searched!!!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:22 am 
Offline
Boost Me Up
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 600
Location: melbourne
I have decided to sell the shit tach and fix my stock tach and just use a shift light

_________________
My trader feedback... viewtopic.php?f=14&t=174304&hilit=Joefd3s


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group